myhappyhealthyfitlife

The title says it all

Day 5: CVX

3 Comments

I don’t know if it’s Sober January, or 9 days of gluten free vegan eating but I feel great! I’m sure it has something to do with getting up and working out in the AM as well, quite the change from rolling out of bed as late as possible before work and mentally waking up an hour later after my coffee. If you’ve read my other posts this week you know it’s been a challenge getting my butt up and at ’em, but I changed my alarm from BEEP BEEP BEEP BE-I WANT TO CLAW OFF MY EARS-EP to Smashing Pumpkin’s “Today” and that’s helped.

Image

Onto P90X3 – This morning was CVX, or cardio with weights. I started out thinking, “Well hey, this is kinda easy!” And then, you know, Cardio + Weights. The general formula on this workout is SetA, SetB, SetC then slightly modified/more intense SetA+, SetB+, SetC+ followed by a 15 second break. And onto SetD, SetE, SetF…you get it, right? By the time you’re at SetX+, SetY+, SetZ+* you’re ready for the 30 minutes to be over. 

I did rather enjoy this video, and my burning shoulders will thank me come summer.  

*there are not actually that many different moves, it just feels like it 😉

Random final thought: I think Shaun of the Dead is my favorite of the Cornetto ice cream trilogy. But to be sure I’m watching Hot Fuzz again.

Image

Author: fitmooney

Enjoying the pursuit of health and happiness. Trying to feed my wanderlust while maintaining a job ;)

3 thoughts on “Day 5: CVX

  1. Motivating! I tried to get up before work but then my hand slipped and hit that snooze button. I really need to get my butt in gear, doing the videos at night is messing with my sleep.

    • My problem is that I most likely will not workout after work – it’s always the “oh I’m tired from the day, I’ll just start tomorrow” excuse!
      And getting up earlier in the morning has helped me sleep better through the night – my body and mind are ready to shut down after being up for 16 hours.

      • Lol morning is so much better but explaining that to my sleep addled brains hasn’t been easy. Next week maybe I’ll give it another try 🙂 good luck with your program!

Leave a Reply

